Important Referencing Materials

Important Reference Page

List of countries that allow or disallow Dual Citizenship

Dual citizenships have been in much of the debate over the years. Much of the developed countries such as US, UK, Australia, Switzerland have no restrictions on holding dual nationality, whereas countries such as Singapore, Austria, India, Saudi Arabia do not “recognize” or “restrict” dual citizenships, leading to automatic loss of citizenship upon acquiring other. Some countries such as Austria, Spain may still grant dual citizenships upon certain special conditions under exceptional cases like celebrities.

The following are list of countries which allow and do not allow dual citizenships.

Please keep in mind that countries amend nationality laws from time to time and are subjected to change:

Dual Citizenships Allowed:

Australia, Barbados, Belgium, Bangladesh, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, United States, United Kingdom, Switzerland, South Korea, South Africa (requires permission) , Egypt(requires prior permission), Greece, France, Finland, Germany (requires prior permission), Iraq, Italy, Israel, Ireland, Poland, Hungary, Iceland, Kenya, Sweden, Slovenia, Syria, Serbia, Armenia, Thailand, Lebanon, Malta, Spain ( allows only with certain Latin American countries), Tonga, Philippines, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka (by retention), Pakistan (accepts only with 16 countries), Portugal, Turkey (requires permission)

Dual Citizenships Not Allowed:

Andorra, Austria, Azerbaijan ,Burma, Bahrain, Botswana, Japan, China, Czech Republic, Fiji,India,Indonesia, Ecuador, Estonia, Iran, Papua New Guinea, Brunei, Japan, Peru, Kuwait, Kazakhstan, Chile, Kiribati, Korea, Kuwait, Latvia,Singapore, Slovakia, Ecuador, Lithuania, Solomon Islands, Fiji ,Malaysia, Mauritius, Netherlands, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Romania, Mexico, Nepal, Venezuela, Norway, Zimbabwe, Mauritius, Myanmar, Nepal


Pakistan allows dual citizenship only with the below countries:

  1. United Kingdom
  2. Italy
  3. France
  4. Belgium
  5. Iceland
  6. Australia
  7. New Zealand
  8. Sweden
  9. United States
  10. Ireland
  11. Netherlands
  12. Switzerland
  13. Canada
  14. Egypt
  15. Jordan
  16. Syria


Allows dual citizenship with some Latin-American countries Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay, Andorra, Portugal, the Philippines and Equatorial Guinea.

SOURCE D’Alessio Law Group


You cannot copy content of this website